Oakland University
Friday, January 31, 2014

Call for Nominations 2014 Sharon Wilhelm Excellence Award

This award is established in honor of Sharon Wilhelm, who served the University in various support and administrative roles for forty-five years.  Ms. Wilhelm began her career in 1962 when the University was still an extension of Michigan State University and its enrollment was less than 1,000 students.  When she died suddenly in October of 2007, enrollment was over 18,000 students.  Throughout the years, Mrs. Wilhelm's devotion to outstanding service seemed to grow proportionately with the University's enrollment. 

Mrs. Wilhelm is remembered and celebrated for her extraordinary work ethic and supportive can-do attitude, which assisted faculty, staff, and administrators in serving their most important constituency: University students.  The award will recognize eligible employees who provide high-level administrative support and mirror Mrs. Wilhelm's exemplary work standards.  

The Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost has provided a stipend that accompanies this award.  All members of the Oakland University community are invited to submit nominations for this award. 

The Sharon Wilhelm Excellence Award Selection Criteria

To reward a full or part-time Oakland University clerical employee who:

(i)                Consistently demonstrates exemplary service to the University community;

(ii)              Builds positive working relationships with supervisors, peers and students;

(iii)            Serves the needs of the University with a positive attitude and work ethic;

(iv)            Displays dedication by going above and beyond that required by participating in non-job-related activities within the University;

(v)              Exhibits sustained, proven and demonstrated methods of improving the efficiency of the work place; exceptional performance in a project or task, which results in a savings of money/time, or increases revenues, productivity and/or morale.


All OUPSA and Excluded Clerical staff with at least five (5) years of service.


All nominations must be submitted to Gail Ryckman, University Human Resources, 428 Wilson Hall, by February 14, 2014.

***Complete the nomination form here and submit it to Gail Ryckman. ***
The Sharon L. Wilhelm Excellence Award was created to reward a full or part-time Oakland University clerical employee who displays outstanding service. Nominate your exemplary clerical staff member today!

Created by Dana Pierce (dpierce@oakland.edu) on Friday, January 31, 2014
Modified by Dana Pierce (dpierce@oakland.edu) on Friday, January 31, 2014
Article Start Date: Friday, January 31, 2014