Oakland University
Tuesday, July 31, 2012

2012 Alumni Awards recipients announced

The 2012 Alumni Awards Banquet will be held on Friday, October 26, 2012 in the Oakland Center banquet rooms.  For details on the event or if you wish to reserve your table early, please contact Christina Simon at 248-364-6134 or casmion2@oakland.eduJoin us in honoring the following outstanding alumni and friends:

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Greggory R. Garrett, SECS ‘97
President, CGS Advisors LLC

The Distinguished Alumni Service Award is Oakland’s highest alumni honor.  It recognizes peerless volunteer leadership in service to OU or its alumni association.

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
Joel Frederiksen, MM ‘90
Operatic Soloist

Richard D. French, CAS ‘84
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, French/West/Vaughan

The Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award recognizes outstanding professional achievement or contribution to the community.

Odyssey Award
Tamra Dukatz, MSN '93
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, Beaumont Health System

The Odyssey Award honors alumni whose lives exemplify Oakland University’s motto to “seek virtue and knowledge.”

Spirit Award
Anthony Thornton, CAS ’76 and Robert Thornton, CAS ‘77
Manager, Center for Work and Families at Lighthouse of Oakland County and Program Officer, The Skillman Foundation

The Spirit Award recognizes exemplary volunteer service to the university.

Alumni Community Service Award
Lynne Lombard, SHS ‘84
Physical Therapy Director, Great Lakes Orthopaedic Center

The Alumni Community Service Award recognizes distinctive service of a humanitarian nature or citizenship through community, public, or OU service activities.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
David McGhee, CAS '05
Program Director, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Flint

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award recognizes alumni who have demonstrated the worth of their education through their post-college achievements and, generally, have graduated within the last ten years.

Honorary Alumni Award
The Honorable Representative Gary C. Peters
U.S. Congressman

Joy Williams
Executive Events Consultant to the President (retired), Oakland University

The Honorary Alumni Awards are given to individuals who have not graduated from OU, but who have given outstanding service to the university.

Created by Amanda Fylan (fylan@oakland.edu) on Tuesday, July 31, 2012
Modified by Amanda Fylan (fylan@oakland.edu) on Monday, August 20, 2012
Article Start Date: Tuesday, July 31, 2012